Quartetto Maurice: 4 + 1

Without doubt the string quartet is one of those traditional acoustic instrumentations, which are going to continue their popularity in the age of ongoing electronic and hybrid sound production. As economic developments, changes in the structure of musical publicity and other weightages in the minds of the politically responsibles, will let continue the
diminutions in the landscape of large instrumentations, orchestras especially, and question any kind of their non-museal functionality – the string quartet will hardly be bothered thereby, this prediction be darsaid. Nonetheless it remains the question, what, aside from the passed on and glory-promising aura of the "genre of connaisseurs" (already since the times of Haydn), still inspires composers to deal with the sound world of the string quartet – not at last thereupon grave quartets, as e.g. Xenakis' Tetras, give a wordless but though convincing answer – wheres the continuation of the swinging string in the swinging membrane of the speaker poses new aesthetic questions.

Daniel Mayer


With its program 4 + 1 Quartetto Maurice, already cooperating since 2002 (though consisting of young players), complements its equipment with electronics. Based on Fausto Romitelli's Natura morta con fiamme (the much too early passed Italian finished the work in 1991, when he moved to Paris in order to study with Hugues Dufour, Gérard Grisey and at IRCAM) a bow is drawn to composers, who now belong to the most fascinating of the young anyhow already established generation. Like Romitelli also Marco Momi studied at IRCAM (2007-2010), Simon Steen-Andersen likes to work multimedia-based (with or without electronics), complements classical instruments with video, performance and other extramusical means and Andrea Agostini will himself be responsible for electronics and sound direction at this evening. And with Iannis Xenakis' Tetras the program also includes a legendary string quartet.

Ute Pinter (transl. by D. Mayer)

Presented by: open music


Quartetto Maurice:

Georgia Privitera – violin
Laura Bertolino – violin
Francesco Vernero – viola
Aline Privitera – cello
Andrea Agostini – sound direction, electronics

Davide Gagliardi – technical assistance


Fausto Romitelli: Natura morta con fiamme for string quartet and electronics (1991)
Simon Steen-Andersen: Study for string instrument #2 (2009)
Iannis Xenakis: Tetras (1983)
Marco Momi: from the string quartet: Almost pure for E.P. (2011)
Andrea Agostini: Legno sabbia vetro cenere for string quartet and electronics (2010)


Tuesday, October 18th 2016, 20 h
Kulturzentrum bei den Minoriten, ImCubus
Mariahilferplatz 3 / I, 8020 Graz


Entry: €  15.- / 10.- (reduced) / 5.- (for music students with identification card)